Inter Milan defeated AC Milan to win the 20th Serie A title.

Inter Milan sealed their 20th Italian title by beating arch-rivals and nearest challengers AC Milan in a historic Derby della Madonnina.

Francesco Acerbi was unmarked to head in Benjamin Pavard’s flick-on from a corner to give Inter the lead

Marcus Thuram latched onto a long ball and was given too much time to cut in before smashing their second into the bottom corner at the San Siro.

Fikayo Tomori of England scored from close range to offer Milan a short hope.

There were three red cards in injury time as tempers boiled over. Milan’s Theo Hernandez and Inter’s Denzel Dumfries were sent off for their part in a brawl and the hosts ended with nine men as captain Davide Calabria was sent off for violent conduct.

Inter players and coaches ran on to the pitch to celebrate at the final whistle at the ground both sides share, although Milan were the home side for this fixture.

With five games remaining, the second-placed Rossoneri trail Inter by 17 points.

With Mike Maignan tipping over Hakan Calhanoglu’s drive and Lautaro Martinez missing a sitter, Inter could have won by a larger margin.

In the 116-year history of the Milan derby, this was the first time the Serie A championship has ever been won.

Latest articles

Related articles